MENU

Clubs and Organizations

Freshman Class
Adviser - Angela Merrick (amerrick@belvideresd.org)

Sophomore Class
Adviser - Megan Poyer (mpoyer@belvideresd.org)

Junior Class
Advisers - Courtney Kopf (ckopf@belvideresd.org) and Laurie Smith (lsmith@belvideresd.org)

Senior Class
Adviser - Charlie Zetterstrom (czetterstrom@belvideresd.org)

Director of Choral Activities
Adviser - Ignacio Angulo-Pizarro (ipizarro@belvideresd.org)
*Men's Choiran auditioned, all male choir that sings advanced repertoire of different styles and time periods and rehearses once a week.  There is a winter and a spring concert, as well as various other performances for both the school and community throughout the year. Auditions occur in the beginning of the year and late December. 
*Scarlet Choiran auditioned, all women's choir that sings advanced repertoire of different styles and time periods and rehearses once a week. There is a winter and a spring concert, as well as various other performances for both the school and community throughout the year. Auditions occur in the beginning of the year and late December. 
*Chamber Choiran auditioned, mixed choir that sings advanced repertoire of different styles and time periods and rehearses once a week. There is a winter and a spring concert, as well as various other performances for both the school and community throughout the year. Auditions ONLY occur in the beginning of the year.
*The Octeta student-run octet for which students must audition and rehearsals occur at least once a week; these are catered to the students’ schedules.  Students are in charge of learning the music (of different styles and time periods) and will lead rehearsals by themselves with no director aid.  The Octet performs at both the winter and spring concerts, and also throughout the year for both the school and the community.  Auditions ONLY occur in the beginning of the year.


Instrumental Music Director
Adviser - Charlie Zetterstrom (czetterstrom@belvideresd.org)

Drama Club
Adviser - Stephanie Golda (sgolda@belvideresd.org)
Club DescriptionBHS's Drama Club and Tech Crew produces two mainstage productions a year: a fall play and a spring musical.  Along with those productions, they hold many other fundraising events to provide opportunities for all students to perform, work behind-the-scenes, and interact with the larger Belvidere community.  Meetings are held at least once a month during lunch, plus rehearsals frequently after school. All students interested in being onstage or working backstage are welcome to join Drama Club.  

Technical Theater/Tech Crew
Adviser - Elizabeth Porcelli (eporcelli@belvideresd.org)
Club Description: See description above

Extended Learners
Adviser - Jessica Labate (jlabate@belvideresd.org)
Club Descriptiona program designed to offer enrichment activities to Belvidere's highest achieving students. These activities include but are not limited to Model UN, Teen Arts, WHAM, Consumer Bowl, Battle of the Books, and various Mathematics competitions. Students are selected after a rigorous screening process that involves teacher recommendations, PSAT scores, unweighted GPAs, and an additional test called the CogAT 7.  

Future Farmers of America
Adviser - Brian Leh (bleh@belvideresd.org)

Green Dot
Adviser - Kristin Gaitan (kgaitan@belvideresd.org)
Club DescriptionThe ultimate Green Dot goal is to engage a critical mass of our school community in behavior change that will result in a reduction of violence. These moments of violence can include bullying, sexual assault, domestic violence, and dating/stalking violence.  Each of these things are represented by a red dot.  Red dots represent a single act of violence or the choice to let the violence happen. A red dot is also when someone makes the choice to do nothing when they see any of these things happening. Violence at our school is the sum total of individual actions and choices made by all of us. We know that too many high school students experience some sort of violence before they graduate and that it is our responsibility to do something about it. Doing something is a green dot moment. It is a choice or behavior that makes someone safer and makes it clear that we won’t put up with violence of any kind. A green dot is pulling a friend out of a high risk situation; passing an anonymous note to a teacher about bullying that is going on; checking in on someone you are worried about; getting his or her friends to check in on a couple that seems to be out of control; refusing to forward a text or comment on a Facebook page that we know isn’t true or okay. A green dot is simply your choice to do something. Students in this club are agreeing to be good examples of up-standers as opposed to passive bystanders. Students must receive an invitation to join this club by the adviser. The selection process considers teacher nominations as well as current member essay nominations. Nominations by teachers or current members does not guarantee an invitation. Students must attend a one day bystander training session and participate in all club activities throughout the course of the year.

Leo Club
Adviser - Laura Krause (lkrause@belvideresd.org)
Club DescriptionLEO Club is the high school version of the Lions Club. The word “Leo” stands for Leadership, Experience, Opportunity. Leo clubs encourage youths to develop leadership qualities by participating in social service activities.  Leos volunteer throughout a school year in activities such as community service activities, helping fundraisers, and assisting other organizations. They are dependent on a Lions club to sponsor and initiate a Leo club. Leo clubs are sponsored by Lions clubs and comprise an official program of Lions Clubs International.

National Honor Society
Adviser - Pamela Geisinger (pgeisinger@belvideresd.org)

Scarlet Scoop
Adviser - John Owens (jowens@belvideresd.org)

Ski Club
Adviser - Daniel Dempsey (ddempsey@belvideresd.org)
Club Description: The Belvidere Ski Club is open to all students, parents, families, and friends. Skiing and snowboarding is a fun family activity.  Come join us on the slopes at Camelback. Participants will be responsible for all package costs and transportation. Online registration is now open. Please complete registration and payment by Tuesday, November 21st. See Mr. Dempsey, or go to the "Athletics" tab then click on "Documents" for registration information.

Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)
Adviser - Delcie Hinkel (dhinkel@belvideresd.org)

Spanish National Honor Society
Adviser - Delcie Hinkel (dhinkel@belvideresd.org)

Student Government
Adviser - Debra Koch (dkoch@belvideresd.org)

Yearbook
Advisers - Angela Merrick (amerrick@belvideresd.org) and Michele Vulcano-Hall (mvulcanohall@belvideresd.org)